How to set up the most eco friendly, sustainable and gorgeous atelier ever (and all the hurdles along the way)

by ateliertammam

Well it is a week until we throw open our door and welcome the first of our customers, lusting after the best of eco couture and sustainable designer fashion, but of course it can’t just be the dresses we offer that are ethical and considered, it must be the whole package. The Atelier Tammam experience is not about one aspect of ethics, its about all of it and the atelier, in its physical manifestation is no exception.

Our first port of call was the fabulous Earthborn paints

http://www.earthbornpaints.co.uk/

I was so excited when i stumbled across this amazing company, with their fabulous eco friendly natural water based paints. Though when first seen by the builders the pots induced groans of “that flowery paints gonna need 10 coats ya know” after one application I was informed “its alright this paint” (which in builder speak means it is bloody brilliant and he can eat his words).

My first option for flooring, I was informed by the time I finally got round to ordering, was out of stock and not available until July. I must admit I swore a little bit, but swiftly picked up the phone and spoke to the adorable Chris from The Bamboo Flooring Company.

http://www.bambooflooringcompany.com/

Chris assured me he would get me just what I wanted, and in plenty of time for opening. I waited and waited and then I called him, and he informed me my lovely bamboo floor (10x harder than oak and resistant to even the sharpest stiletto) was imprisoned in a warehouse in Europe. “What is it doing there?!” I cried… long story but with a lot of crossed fingers and the best of vibes being sent to said warehouse our floor was released and finally arrived, ready to start being laid this week.

For our changing room we have been honored to be supplied a traditional style rail by Hunter and Hyland.

http://www.hunterandhyland.co.uk

Curtain polers to the Queen!

One of my most exciting finds was our lights, after deliberating for literally HOURS over which lamp shade, chandelier and fittings to acquire I stumbled upon these.

from http://plumen.com/

I think they are just incredibly gorgeous, chic, modern and beautiful and best of all they are energy saving bulbs. I will be replacing every bulb in my house with these!

I can’t give everything away, but a little taste of the incredible ethical brands we have be collaborating with in the refurbishing of the atelier.

Not long to go now, the count down begins…. I do hope you’ll join us soon for a glass of organic fizz in our incredible eco atelier!

Yours, covered in dust and (eco) paint

Ms Tammam

