Fairly Fashionable

by ateliertammam

Darlings! It’s all very well my waxing lyrical about wearing fair… But how does one do it and still look stylish, glamorous and fabulous (and not break the bank…)?

This fashion season I’m going to show you how. I shall be capturing a self portrait of myself every day for the whole of fashion month and posting pictures, links and stories about the garments I wear.

All pictures are beautifully snapped on THE ultimate eco accessory… A Fairphone 2.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 13.39.31.png

Fashion season has kicked off in New York… To celebrate our transatlantic friends and inaugurate my month of wearing it well I’ve dug out an old favourite, the Tammam couture houndstooth coat, a favourite outer layer to some of our favourite clients.

 

IMG_20160210_135908.jpg

This sample (size 8-10) is available to hire from the Atelier, so you can wear it even if you don’t have an haute couture budget. The coat was crafted in the atelier using hand woven peace silk houndstooth cloth and British lace. The interlinings, attached in the traditional method are vegan alternatives. I love wearing this coat in different ways, today I’ve hidden the lace and taken out the front panel to be a vision in black and white. Don’t you think it looks fabulous with my best Beyond Skin brogues and hand painted (by artist, Mikey Georgeson) scarf from the Moth in the Flame collection?! Underneath I have some simple organic fair trade cotton sateen trousers and my absolute essential Nancy Dee top, made from reclaimed British fabrics, made in England. Plus, if you must know, I’ve got on Pants to Poverty undies. Well we have to be authentic, don’t we. No you don’t get to see them… well maybe if you ask nicely.

Oh and the amazing hair chop is by Lamphane at Michael Van Clarke. Hands off, he’s mine…well if you must you can make an appointment, but don’t hog him.

I am extrememly in love with the Fairphone… A company with ethics at it’s heart (don’t we know some in the fashion world like that?) With their own Fairtrade gold supply chain in Peru, for circuit board elements in the phone.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 15.06.04.png

I love the transparent case, to match the transparent supply chain – but still in black sweety, becuase black goes with everything. Stylish, ethical and functional – my three favourite things!

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 15.08.21.png

I’ll be writing weekly updates of my fashion month outfits. For the twitteratipinterested and Instagrammers there will be daily pictures @HouseOfTammam.

 

Yours in Fair Trade
Ms Tammam

