A week of (Fair) Fashion in time for (London) Fashion Week

by ateliertammam

I’ve been donning nothing but my best fair fashion frocks for a week now. As we approach London Fashion Week here is a round up of week one of my #FairFashMonth challenge. All images captured on the Fairphone 2 #WeAreFairphone.

Tammam Fairphone Day 2.jpg

Day two in a Tammam organic fair trade cotton LBD, made for me in the Bloomsbury studio, accessorised with a Nancy Dee top made out of Bemberg Modal fabric, vintage belt and Bourgeois Boheme vegan boots.

 

Tammam Fairphone Day 3.jpg

Day three dashing around London, I made a quick stop in the toilettes at the Rosewood Hotel in Holbon to take a sneaky self portrait… Wearing hand tailored jacket from the Tammam Atelier in hand loomed peace silk Houndstooth cloth, the interlinings are vegan. A Tammam fair trade and organic cotton skirt complete the look. The top is also fair trade and organic by ethical basics favourite People Tree. Shoes are from vegan footwear label Beyond Skin – I think I got these in a sample sale about 5 years ago – still going strong.

 

Tammam Fairphone Day 4.jpg

Day four the start of a weekend away, no mirrors to use so just pictured the old pins – still with the Fairphone 2 though (which I am more and more in love with each day). The Bourgeois Boheme boots again, Nancy Dee skirt – bought at our last curated Sale and my gorgeous Matt & Nat vegan travel bag, also bought at an Atelier Tammam sale a few seasons ago.

 

Tammam Fairphone Day 5.jpg

Day five who doesn’t love a pub with stuffed animal heads?! Well me actually… however the fireplace was wonderful on a cold day – as was my favourite Jumper from Miksani – one of those brilliant indie labels lost (RIP). Still their creations live on – hand knitted by fair trade co-operatives. Coat by Brit designer Cecilia Hammarborg, bag is another vegan Matt & Nat.

Tammam fairphone day 6 edited.jpg

Day six proving casual can be conscious! The trousers are Levis I bought about 15 years ago… I recently dug them out and made a few adjustments so they fit my older, wiser, body shape. That’s slow fashion for you. A cardigan by eco brand Wunderwerk found at a sample sale in the east end a few months ago. The scarf is by a beautiful Indian eco brand I had the pleasure to meet on my last trip to Delhi – Eka work with artisans utilising traditional hand loom techniques to create these beautiful cotton scarves.

 

Tammam fairphone Day 7.jpg

Day seven was our politics day – we dressed Sian Berry the Green candidate for London Mayor for the hustings at RIBA. She looked fabulous so I had to look the part too. The tailored jacket again, worn with a Bourgeois Boheme belt. A vintage shirt bought from Cha Cha Cha vintage a few years ago and Atelier Tammam organic fair trade cotton skirt with our signature heart shape detail. Beyond Skin boots which I bought about seven years ago and still look like new (despite a lot of wear and three or four trips to the cobbler to sort out the heels).

Tammam Fairphone Day 8.jpg

Day eight we launched A Sustainable World 2016 Art competition – the annual event which  searches for the best eco artists out there. So this picture is taken next to our beautiful peacock, who graces the walls of our showroom and was designed by the winner of last year’s competition K.Birdy. Wearing a Tammam skirt from one of our ready to wear collections (about 2008 I think), Nancy Dee top and Bibico Cardigan. Bibico works with some of the producers we work with in Nepal, it’s so good to know there is an eco indie label out there still going strong after so many years – not many make it. Shoes are another pair by Beyond Skin.

As London Fashion Week Looms we’ll be posting all our shenanigans on Instagram, facebook and twitter and I’ll do another round up next week.

Yours in Fair Fashion, and anticipation for LFW

Ms Tammam

 

