Fair Fashion Month continues

by ateliertammam

Fashion week sped past like a sartorial whirlwind, and now we are preparing for an even more exciting event; Our upcoming trip to Washington DC and Los Angeles to collaborate and exhibit with renowned vegan artist, Dana Ellyn and showcase at the Moda360 event. With that, creating a couture wardrobe for Sian Berry, green candidate for London Mayor, a plethora of bridal orders and an ever increasing order book I’ve been buried under a pile of patterns, fabrics, scissors and fastenings. Pretty much tied to my cutting table…however I have managed to grab the Fairphone every day to take a snap of my eco outfit.

 

Tammam Fairphone Day 16.jpg

Day sixteen back in an LBD (Little Bespoke Dress – available from the Atelier now and launching to the masses soon) in organic fair trade cotton – We made an LBD for Jenny Agutter last year. Worn here with Beyond Skin Brogues and a Wunderwerk cardigan.

Tammam Fairphone Day 17.jpg

Day seventeen time for a treat at one of my favourite (vegetarian) eateries, Mildreds, who have opened a branch in Kings Cross, just five minutes away from the Atelier. (If you can’t find me at lunch time, you know where I’ll be). A distinct lack of mirrors meant I had to take this with the front camera on the Fairphone. Wearing a wonderful fair trade hand knitted jumper dress by, the no longer running label, Miksani and a Tammam Scarf. Still grateful to the fabulous Lamphane at Michael Van Clarke for my perfect hair cut.

Tammam Fairphone day 18.jpg

Saturday evening at home on day eighteen wearing a Tammam skirt in organic fair trade cotton, a Nancy Dee top and a hand printed scarf from India.

Tammam Fairphone Day 19.jpg

A quick visit to the Atelier (on a Sunday!) during day nineteen, feeling inspired by the art deco wardrobe stuffed full of bridal gowns (including my vintage collection) and wearing retro Tammam peace silk trousers and organic cotton top, and a cardigan made of spun nettle and hemp yarns sourced from a family yarn supplier in Nepal – I remember taking sacks of these yarns through the streets of Kathmandu on a cycle rikshaw about 10 years ago, to be knitted by a wonderful fair trade company I work with there – I called this the Mokey cardigan because it reminded me of the character from Fraggle Rock – ever the artist, I aim to inspire! The necklace was a gift, when I was working at a bespoke menswear tailor in Rome, far too long ago to remember, and the broach is vintage.

Tammam Fairphone Day 20.jpg

It’s definitely hurtling towards wedding season so on day twenty  here I am amongst some of our current samples. It was a business meeting day so I wore my Nancy Dee purple jersey dress.

 

Tammam Fairphone Day 21.jpg

Day twenty-one, trying on part of the collaboration outfit for the USA. This organic fair trade cotton skirt is going to be sent off to Dana soon for her to paint, while I’m eagerly awaiting a beautiful painting of hers to embellish. The corset made from British tulle, will create the underpinnings for another part of the collaboration. I am thoroughly enjoying working with Dana and loving that technology is enabling us to work in this way, maybe I’m not such a technophobe after all – has the Fairphone changed me?!

Tammam Fairphone Day 22.jpg

Because I like to keep busy, I agreed, on day twenty-two, to teach a life drawing and fashion illustration class at the awesome St Pancras Renaissance Hotel as the inaugural Masterclass for their new series of events. It was really fun with a great crowd and fabulous life model. There are three more complimentary classes in March – book tickets to secure a place or join us back at the Atelier when Fashion & Life Drawing classes start again in April. Wearing a Nancy Dee dress, with Bourgeois Boheme boots and Tammam scarf and cardigan. My marvellous mannequin is adorned in Tammam haute couture.

More next week. For the twitteratipinterested and Instagrammers there will be daily pictures @HouseOfTammam.

Yours in fair fashion – for the busy couturier,

Ms Tammam

