Fashion, Art, DC, LA, Vegans and more Art

by ateliertammam

As Fair Fashion Month came to an end, life at the Atelier got quite busy. For my last day of Fair Fashion Month I visited Winchester School of Art to discuss sustainable fashion with the Ethical Hedonist in front of their fashion students, then dashed over to St Pancras Renaissance to run the second Life Drawing and Fashion Illustration Masterclass.

Fairphone day 30.png

Day thirty I wore my trusty Beyond Skin brogues, a vintage dress coat over my black organic cotton skirt. The Houndstooth Coat from the Atelier’s couture collection with a Bourgeois Boheme belt and Tammam peace silk scarf. Holding my Matt & Nat hand bag wth a Fab India clutch tucked inside. Of course, the final picture was taken with the ultimate eco accessory – the Fairphone 2.

I absolutely loved showing off my ethical wardrobe. I adore creating different looks from the same staple pieces (using accessories to update a simple dress is very Coco Chanel), and I do appreciate I have an advantage – having the whole Atelier Tammam hire collection at my disposal! All these Tammam pieces are available to hire, we’ll have the full wardrobe available to view on line soon, in the meantime send Kim an email (info@tammam.co.uk) if you want to borrow anything.

With the end of Fair Fashion Month came the judging for A Sustainable World 2016 – our annual Art competition which attracts applicants from across the world. I was honoured to be joined on the judging panel by my current collaborator from across the pond, renowned vegan artist Dana Ellyn, and London’s King of conceptual art Duggie Fields. Many thanks to both of them.

ASW winner.png

The winning entry came from eco artist Celia Gregory, of the Marine Foundation – she creates underwater art installations that turn into sustainable habitats for marine life and eco tourist attractions for coastal communities. This image will be showcased in Washington DC and Los Angeles next month.

Apart from being a beautiful image with a wonderful sustainable story, we also loved that the theme goes so well with the collaboration Dana and I are working on – our art / fashion collection inspired by bycatch and the fishing industry. Entitled Bycatch By Hand we’ll be showing at the P street Gallerie in Washington DC on 1st and 2nd April and at Moda360 in Los Angeles on 4th and 5th April.

A Sustainable World Art competition is over for another year, many thanks for all the applications, huge congratulations to our shortlisted entrants, especially Ronan McGeough and Philp McCulloch-Downs our 2nd and 3rd place finalists.

ASW 2nd.png               ASW 3rd.png

Also a tremendous thank you to Clearspring who generously contributed to the prizes for the winners.

For the twitteratipinterested and Instagrammers keep up to date with all our shenanigans @HouseOfTammam.

Yours in (sustainable) art,

Ms Tammam

